Paradise Mesa Drag Strip trophy presentation with Carlos Ramirez in the driver seat and behind the trophy is Bean Bandit co-president, chief builder, and future Drag Racing Hall of Famer Joaquin Arnett. (Cover photo courtesy of Ruben Lovato.)

The Bean Bandits won the first National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) Championship in 1953 and Joaquin Arnett, the San Diego native, led his Bean Bandits car club to over 300 drag strip wins. The Bean Bandits streamliners, hand built by Arnett, set several land speed records at El Mirage and Bonneville.